It doesn't matter how you play the game, it's whether you win or lose, and even that doesn't make that much difference. ~ Coach Finstock ~

Friday, July 1, 2011

College Football Conferences

With the official move of the University of Nebraska to the Big Ten Conference it got me thinking about the names of the conferences and why people are so dumb, that's right.....dumb.

So with Nebraska's move, the Big Ten Conference now has 12 teams and the Big XXII (12) where Nebraska left now has 10 teams. However, during the summer meetings both conferences agreed to keep their names. Why don't conferences take a hint from the SEC (Southeastern Conference), ACC (Atlantic Coast Conference), Big East or Mountain West? Keep it simple and make the name geographical. I will give one conference credit, the Pac-10 added Colorado and Utah and they changed their name and logo to the Pac-12. I realize the belief that you are tied to a part of the country if you have a geographical name, well that is not the case, because TCU (Texas Christian University) is moving to the Big East in 2012 and needless to say they are not in the East.


Part of the issue is the so-called historical piece, the Big Ten is the oldest conference and they are part of the reason I believe that the BCS is still in place. The freaking Rose Bowl issue every year is crazy to me, the Big Ten has a sense of entitlement and needs to get over themselves.

So how about the following:

Big Ten - Midwestern Conference (MWC)
Big XXII - Southwestern Conference (SWC) bring back the SWC
Pac-12 - Pacific Coast Conference (PCC)

Another example of pride over common sense!!

No comments:

Post a Comment